Skip to content

Burnt Brownies

September 28, 2009

I have never really cooked before. Sure, Betty Crocker and I have created those just add water cakes together but that doesn’t really count.

In my opinion, the ability to cook is a life skill; one that, as humans, has kept us alive for generations! So, I decided to start learning as there are no guarantees my future husband will know how to cook and I don’t want to live off of microwave food forever.

Batter

I found a recipe for a form of brownies that seemed simply enough at http://www.paperyandcakery.com/2009/09/cakery-friday-peanut-butter-chocolate.html.

It was very simple! It was a very easy recipe to follow and throw together. I’m actually really pleased with it because it took so little time I might be able to whip these up in the future when I’m not on break and still have time for school.

Finished

I did mess up, unfortunately.

The recipe was one for smaller, bite sized brownies. I made normal/large ones so I had to adjust the cooking time. I ended up adjusted it not perfect and as a result, my brownies are a bit hard. Also, since the recipe was for the smaller brownies, it only made nine normal brownies which is just fine with me! I’m giving them to two of my friends in marching band who are having birthdays over the break! I hope they appreciate the thought and ignore that they are bricks.

003

On another note, I finished a fun book I was reading! I recommend it for all female marching band kids…it’s called Band Geek Loveby Josie Bloss. It’s about a trumpet player, of course. Sadly, I can’t use it as a project in my AP language class. There is actually a category called, Fiction with a Purpose that maybe could work, but no. This is definitely a no thinking required kind of book which is just fine with me!

Two books I am getting ready to read though that I will be using for AP lang are:

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami and How to Talk to a Liberal (If You Must) by Ann Coulter.

The one by Haruki looks really interesting. Personally, there are so many things that go through my mind when I run long distance and many times, they are amusing things so I’m hoping it will be a fun read. As far as the Ann Coulter book goes, I think it will be a good one to see her viewpoints. I’m also going to go out and say when I find time I will be reading Obama’s book. Whatever your viewpoint is, it’s good to know what the other side is saying.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

